Foodspiration?

12 Jan

Apparently, I am not the first person to mash those two words together and a quick attempt at creating another similarly food influenced word  (Ingenfoodity? Um, no.) has shown me that I should probably just stick to making the food instead of coming up with new words with which to talk about it.

In the two weeks that I’ve been on this journey, I’ve been looking to different places for inspiration instead of relying on my old standards–my cookbook cupboard, a few food blogs, Food & Wine, Epicurious, and The Food Network.  Most online foodie folks that I read with any regularity pull inspiration from their favorite eateries, which terrifies me since I’m fairly confident that I couldn’t do most of my favorite restaurant dishes justice (I will forever try to recreate Spiaggia’s torta and will likely fail until I die).

Until then, I found a new site that I’m thinking will help me along the way.

Some of you may already be familiar with gojee.com, but I wasn’t.  It curates recipes from tons of bloggers from all over the place while allowing you to search for recipes based on a few unique filters, like what you currently have in your kitchen, your likes, dislikes and / or allergies.  Plus, their interface is really pretty.  AND they let you search for drink recipes (with booze and without).  AND occasionally little animations will pop up on the site and sing and dance for you.  I’m sold (and will definitely be making these at some point in the near future).

Discuss.

