As easy as 1, 2, 3.

13 Feb

Last night I might have made the easiest dinner ever.  I’m not talking peanut-butter-on-a-spoon-dinner, which I have done before, but a dinner that was much tastier and only involved slightly more effort.

We were having some friends over for dinner (Hi Kelli!  Hi Paul!) and as we are all trying to be healthier this year–Paul and James are running the Chicago marathon this fall, Kelli is rocking the new Weight Watchers program, and I’m trying to not eat cookie butter spread on graham crackers for two meals a day–I wanted to make something new that would be both blog-worthy and healthy.

Enter pinterest.  I wasn’t sure I’d be on board (ha!) with this whole thing, but after a few hours I was totally hooked.  I found this recipe pinned to a friend’s board and when I saw the instructions I thought it was too good to be true.  Turns out, it wasn’t.

For reals, the entire recipe is this:

1. Put uncooked chicken breasts in a crock pot.  2. Cover with a jar of salsa.  3.  Stir in a packet of taco seasoning.

And that’s it.  You turn the crock pot on and let it simmer for a few hours and when it’s done, you have amazingly flavored, not dry chicken that shreds easily with a fork.  Pile it in a tortilla with your favorite toppings and that’s it.  We didn’t have a ton of leftovers since there were four of us eating, but if I were cooking for just James and I, we would have had enough leftover for tortilla soup the next day.

In the comments section people list adding things like a can of cream of mushroom soup or a block of cream cheese, but that seems totally unnecessary (and honestly kind of gross–creamy taco meat?  No thanks.).  I would definitely make sure you use a high quality salsa (I used Frontera) as I imagine the “New York City” style salsa might make it too salty.  And feel free to tinker with this recipe–perhaps making your own taco seasoning (cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, etc.)

Sadly, no pics this time around since I forgot about it in my hosting haze, but trust me when I say it looked like delicious, mouth-watering, shredded chicken tacos.

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos (from Chocolate Therapy)

  • 1 envelope taco seasoning
  • 6 pieces boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 jar salsa (16 oz)

1.  Dump everything into a crock pot and give it a little stir to blend the seasoning with the salsa.

2. Cook on high for 4 to 6 hours or on low for 6 to 8 hours. When done, the chicken should shred easily when stirred with a fork.

2 Responses to “As easy as 1, 2, 3.”

  1. Debbie February 13, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Add a can of drained, rinsed blacj beans and a can of drained corn. Delish

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So the thing about wagons is « Food Year's Resolution - March 23, 2012

    […] little dude and I had a lunch date this week with my lovely friend Kelli (the same Kelli from this post) and she casually mentioned that my blog pops up in her RSS feed, to which I muttered […]

Discuss.

