So the thing about wagons is

23 Mar

they’re kind of tricky to stay on, what with the wheels and the motion and the dysentery.

I could blame my lack of posting on the little dude and his ever-increasing ability to take fewer naps, coupled with the fact that any spare moment of peace I get is spent looking for a really super awesome new job (who wants to hire a super awesome me?), or I could just (wo)man up and admit that I’ve gotten lazy about posting.  Sigh.  This blog thing is harder than I thought.

The little dude and I had a lunch date this week with my lovely friend Kelli (the same Kelli from this post) and she casually mentioned that my blog pops up in her RSS feed, to which I muttered something about not posting and being a failure.  She quickly told me to stop being silly and also mentioned something about feeling particularly cool when you see your name on the interwebs, so this post is for Kelli.  Kelli, Kelli, Kelli.  Hi Kelli!  Thanks for the kick in the butt!

I hadn’t intended to try something new this evening.  I just thought I’d cook some brown rice, a veggie, and throw some salmon in the oven, which has become a fairly regular meal.  Sometimes the salmon will marinate in a mixture of whatever I think sounds good, or I’ll make my mom’s tried and true salmon with lemon and dill in parchment.  But when I took the fish out of the fridge, I saw that Trader Joe’s had tucked a recipe card into the packaging and it sounded pretty good.  Bonus: I have every ingredient already in my fridge, including some spinach that needed to be used.  Done and done.

This isn’t your grandmother’s creamy spinach.  It was fairly light, all things considered, and I loved that from start to finish, this entire meal took me about 30 minutes and was mixed and cooked directly in the skillet, so there was one fewer bowl to clean.  It was a tad on the salty side, due to using regular old soy sauce and some additional salt.  Next time, I’d probably opt out of the extra NaCl.  Normally, I’d substitute my Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, but sadly, I was out.  The recipe also called for TJ’s frozen, chopped spinach, but I used some aforementioned fresh stuff.

Side note about the salmon–I love fish and am generally not picky, but living in the PacNW has absolutely ruined me where salmon is concerned.  I will absolutely thumb my nose at Atlantic salmon.  Sorry (I’m not sorry).  That stuff is . . . weak.  Especially when compared with a really beautiful sockeye.  My advice is to spend a little extra to get the good stuff (wild, not farmed).  And both Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s has some tasty, frozen sockeye that won’t break the bank.

Creamy Spinach Salmon (slightly adapted from Trader Joe’s)

  • One large bunch fresh spinach, chopped (or 1 16oz box of frozen chopped spinach)
  • 2 c. half and half (or cream)
  • 3 tbsp. soy sauce, or Liquid Aminos
  • 2 tsp. dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • Salt + Pepper, to taste
  • 1 lb. salmon (skin on), cut into roughly 2 filets
  • lemon

Mix all ingredients in a large, non-stick skillet (I threw a little coconut oil in the bottom first), over medium-high heat.  Place salmon skin side down, in the mixture.  Cook until lightly simmering, then reduce heat to medium, occasionally spooning the mixture over the fish, until finished, about 20-25 minutes.  Squeeze lemon to finish.

I served this over some brown rice, which was a nice balance.  And provided a tasty way to sop up all that extra sauce and spinach.

2 Responses to “So the thing about wagons is”

  1. ali.lemaitre March 24, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    yum! i’m with you on the salmon (wild sockeye that is). and i think it’s all about the sauces. lately i’ve been getting board with our usual veggies & protein routines… thanks for the reminder to ‘GET SAUCEY’. Maybe that can be your next post 🙂 and btw – the fact that you’ve got a new babe and still managing to post at all is pretty impressive! then again, I imagine it really does only get harder as he gets older – so good job momma!

  2. alison March 26, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    the fresh salmon at costco (although farmed and atlantic) isn’t too bad actually. i’ve been known to scoff at anyone who even thinks about eating salmon in the midwest, but the way my parents have cooked it , it’s not too bad. just throw some yogurt, lemon, salt and pepper on it and broil for a few minutes. simple and easy. this looks good though!

Discuss.

