“By the Power of Grayskull!”

14 Apr

Oh, He-Man, wherever did you run off to?  Did you ever defeat Skeletor?  I was slightly more partial to She-Ra myself, but not because I identified with her as a female superhero.  Oh no.  It was because of that weird furry sidekick of hers with the rainbow wings. On this little trip down memory lane, I just discovered that She-Ra’s battle cry was actually different than her twin brother’s.  Instead of saying, “By the power of Grayskull” and POOF! transformation, she’d say, “For the honor of Grayskull”.  A small difference, but one that has me thinking–couldn’t She-Ra harness that power, too? And in actuality, didn’t she?  I mean, I certainly remember her kicking some serious ass and didn’t rely solely on honor to defend her country . . .

And so, in homage to that crazy 80’s She-Ra power, I think I’m going to name my latest concoction, She-Ras.  Thanks to the wonder that is Pinterest, I happened upon these no-back energy ball things a few weeks ago and was determined to make them for easy snacking and as something I could pop in my bag on my way to roller derby practice.  The great thing about these is that you can pretty  much adjust the recipe to your liking.  Not keen on coconut?  Skip it!  Want to substitute chocolate chips for carob ones?  Go right ahead!  You can pretty much mix and match ingredients to your heart’s content.  I bet you can trade the honey for agave nectar, but I like the stickiness of the honey.  Plus, the flavor combo of peanut butter and honey takes me right back to elementary school.

Below is my recipe and it didn’t disappoint.  Easy, nutritious and packs a punch of power.  Not honor.

She-Ras  (no-bake energy bites adapted from Smashed Peas and Carrots)

1 cup  gluten free oatmeal (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
1/2 cup natural peanut butter (or other nut butter)
1/3 cup honey
1 cup unsweetened organic coconut flakes (I used Let’s Do Organic!)
1/2 cup flaxseed (again, I used Bob’s Red Mill, and you can use the ground flaxseed, too)
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1 tsp vanilla
Mix everything above in a medium bowl until thoroughly incorporated.  Let chill in the refrigerator for half an hour.  Once chilled, roll into balls and enjoy!  Store in an airtight container and keep refrigerated for up to 1 week.
2 Responses to ““By the Power of Grayskull!””

  1. lavacasefue April 17, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    How sticky and chewy were they? In other words, could two-year-olds eat them?

    • Food Year's Resolution April 17, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

      Torie– They’re less chewy than store-bought granola bars but sticky enough to retain their shape and not completely crumble when biting into them. I imagine keeping them in the fridge also helps lower the sticky factor. The site I found these on feeds them to her kids and she’s got 4 under the age of 5, so . . .

Discuss.

